Willie Nelson Releases Tribute to Border Patrol Officers In New Cover of "The Border"

Renowned country music icon Willie Nelson, soon to celebrate his 91st birthday in April, shows no signs of slowing down as he gears up to release his 152nd album, "The Border," on May 31st. With a packed schedule of live performances lined up for 2024, Nelson's unwavering dedication to his craft continues to captivate audiences worldwide.

According to the information released alongside the song, "The title track and first single was co-written by Rodney Crowell and Allen Shamblin and appeared on Crowell's 2019 Texas album and describes the inner life and outer reality of a border guard ("I work on the border, I see what I see") with Crowell's composition described in Rolling Stone as "more humanist than political, but no less tragic because of it." Willie's wise worldly take on the provocative song taps into an urgent universal relevancy that defines the album."

Reception from the song has been overwhelmingly positive. YouTube comments from video for the song read, "I'm mexican and I can tell you I love Willie with all my heart, amazing he is still giving us amazing music, the day he flies away, I'm gonna cry for a few hours"

"From a retired Border Patrol Agent, this is beautiful.  Thanks!"

"To all Border Patrol agents thank you for your service.  And thank you Mr. WILLIE Nelson  for your music and for being such a great American! Love ❤️  you!"

"The Border" marks Nelson's return to original songwriting, distinguishing it from his previous two albums. Unlike 2023's "Bluegrass," which offered bluegrass renditions of Nelson's classic hits, and "I Don't Know a Thing About Love," a tribute to songwriter Harlan Howard, this album showcases Nelson's distinctive songwriting prowess and musical ingenuity.

Produced once again by longtime collaborator Buddy Cannon, "The Border" promises a blend of original compositions and carefully curated tracks that embody Nelson's unique musical style. The lead single and title track, penned by Rodney Crowell and Allen Shambin, offers a poignant reflection on contemporary issues, resonating with the timeless themes that define Nelson's body of work.

Joining Nelson on the album are a talented ensemble of musicians, including harmonica virtuoso Mickey Raphael, keyboardist Jim "Moose Brown," and guitarist Bobby Terry, among others. With contributions from esteemed songwriters such as Larry Cordle, Erin Enderlin, and Shawn Camp, "The Border" is poised to be a testament to Nelson's enduring influence on the country music landscape.

As fans eagerly anticipate the release of "The Border," Nelson's latest offering serves as a testament to his unparalleled legacy as one of music's most beloved and prolific entertainers. With its evocative storytelling and soulful melodies, the album is sure to resonate with audiences old and new alike.

"The Border" is now available for pre-order, offering a glimpse into the musical journey of a true legend.

TRACK LIST, from Saving Country Music

1. The Border (Rodney Crowell, Allen Shambin)
2. Once Upon a Yesterday (Willie Nelson, Buddy Cannon)
3. What If I’m Out of My Mind (Willie Nelson, Buddy Cannon)
4. When I Wrote This Song for You (Larry Cordle, Erin Enderlin)
5. Kiss Me When You’re Through (Willie Nelson, Buddy Cannon)
6. Many a Long and Lonesome Highway (Rodney Crowell, Will Jennings)
7. Hank’s Guitar (Buddy Cannon, Bobby Tomberlin)
8. Made in Texas (Shawn Camp, Monty Holmes)
9. Nobody Knows Me Like You (Mike Reid)
10. How Much Does It Cost (Willie Nelson, Buddy Cannon)

Willie by is licensed under
© 2024 The American Beat, Privacy Policy